McMaster Association of Part-Time Students Annual General Meeting – Minutes Tuesday February 21, 2012 @ 5:30 pm Council Chambers, Gilmour Hall 111, McMaster University

PRESENT: Jeanette Hunter (Chair), Candace Waterkamp, Elaine Marion, Violet Wakeman-

Ajandi, Kate Pratas, Sarah Sirkett

PROXY: Johanna Finch, Nathan Shaw, Jerusalem Addisu, Rob Vokes, Yvonne Russel

OTHERS:

**STAFF:** Sam Minniti (Executive Director)

# **CONSTITUTION OF THE MEETING**

The chair, Jeanette Hunter, certified that notice had been duly served. A quorum being present, the chair called the meeting to order.

### ATTACHMENTS TO THE OFFICIAL COPY OF THE MINUTES

Agenda

- Minutes of the 2011 Annual General Meeting (Thursday April 21, 2011)
- Report of the Board of Directors to the Membership
- MAPS Bylaw (with proposed amendments)

#### 1. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Motion: Moved by Waterkamp seconded by Wakeman-Ajandi that the agenda be adopted as

presented.

Carried Unanimously.

## 2. ADDOPTION OF THE MINUTES

**Motion:** Moved by Waterkamp, seconded by Wakeman-Ajandi that the minutes of the Annual

General Meeting (April 21, 2011) be accepted.

Carried Unanimously.

#### 3. BOARD OF DIRECTORS REPORT

The Board's written report was received (copy annexed the master copy of the minutes).

## 4. AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR 2011

Minniti explained that MAPS' auditors, Pettinelli, Mastroluisi had not yet concluded their review of MAPS financial statements for the year ending 2011, and as such, a motion to defer their approval to a subsequent Special General Meeting would be in order.

Motion: Moved by Wakeman-Ajandi, seconded by Hunter that the approval of the audited

financial statements for the year ending December 31, 2011 be postponed to a subsequent Special General Meeting when the audited financial statements would

be ready.

Carried Unanimously.

## 5. AUDITOR APPOINTMENT FOR 2011

Motion: Moved by Wakeman-Ajandi, seconded by Marion that Pettinelli, Mastroluisi be re-

appointed as the Corporation's auditor for 2012.

**Carried Unanimously.** 

### **6. AUDITOR REMUNERATION**

**Motion:** Moved by Waterkamp, seconded by Wakeman-Ajandi that the auditor's

remuneration be fixed by the Board of Directors.

**Carried Unanimously.** 

#### 7. MAPS BYLAW REVIEW

**Motion:** Moved by Waterkamp, seconded by Hunter that the membership approve the

amendments to the MAPS Bylaw as recommended by the 2011-2012 MAPS Board

of Directors as follows:

Section 11. Board of Directors be changed from:

"The affairs of the Corporation shall be managed by a board of not less than 6 directors and no more than 9 directors, each of whom at the time of the election and throughout the term of office shall be a member of the Corporation. Each director shall be elected to hold office until the first AGM after being elected or until a successor shall have been duly elected and qualified. The whole board shall be retired at each AGM, but shall be eligible for re-election if otherwise qualified. The election may be by a show of hands unless a ballot is demanded by any member.

to:

"The affairs of the Corporation shall be managed by a board of not less than 6 directors and no more than 9 directors, each of whom at the time of the election and throughout the term of office shall be a member of the Corporation. Each director

shall be elected to hold office for a two-year term, until the second AGM after being elected or until a successor shall have been duly elected and qualified. Only those Board members concluding their second year term shall be retired at each AGM, but shall be eligible for re-election if otherwise qualified. The election may be by a show of hands unless a ballot is demanded by any member.

and Section 25., Sub-Section ix) be changed from:

"Term Limits. Any executive committee position may be held for a maximum of two years, by any one person in any one position.

to

"Term Limits. Any executive committee position may be held for a maximum of four times, by any one person in any one position. Under extraordinary circumstances, a fifth term will only be granted by a unanimous vote of the Board of Directors.

Carried Unanimously

## 8. BOARD OF DIRECTORS ELECTION FOR 2012-2013

The Corporation's bylaw provide for election at the AGM of a Board of Directors of not less than 6 members and not more than 9 members. A total of 7 members of MAPS have been duly nominated to serve as directors of the Corporation for 2012-2013. The nominees are:

Finch, Johanna Hunter, Jeanette Marion, Elaine Pratas, Kate Shaw, Nathan Wakeman-Ajandi, Violet Waterkamp, Candace

Minniti indicated that Violet Wakeman-Ajandi had submitted a letter to him indicating that she would not stand for election to the MAPS Board.

There being less than 9 nominees, an election was not required, rather a ratification vote.

**Motion:** Moved by Hunter, seconded by Waterkamp that the nominated candidates be duly

elected and ratified as Directors of the Corporation for 2012-2013, with the exception

of Violet Wakeman-Ajandi. Carried Unanimously.

#### **8. OTHER BUSINESS**

Minniti acknowledged Violet Wakeman-Ajandi's service to the MAPS Board of Directors and presented her with a small gift for her retirement from the MAPS Board.

# 9. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the chair entertained a motion to adjourn.

Motion: Moved by Hunter, seconded by Wakeman-Ajandi that the 2012 Annual General

Meeting of MAPS adjourn. Carried Unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 6:30 p.m.